NCAA Baseball News

MSU Baseball’s Jebb Tabbed To Perfect Game’s Preseason All-B1G List

MSU Baseball’s Jebb Tabbed To Perfect Game’s Preseason All-B1G List


EAST LANSING, Mich. — Michigan State baseball infielder Mitch Jebb was tabbed to Perfect Game’s Preseason All-Big Ten Team.

Jebb, a junior from Saginaw, Michigan, led MSU and ranked tied for eighth in the B1G with a .356 average, also topping the team and ranking fifth in the B1G with 78 hits. He also led the team in stolen bases and walks, ranking eighth in the conference with 20 stolen bases and sixth in the league with 38 walks. Additionally, Jebb led the Big Ten and ranked 17th in the NCAA in toughest to strike out – with just one K every 13.7 ABs – on just 16 Ks in 209 ABs.

Last season, he also earned third-team All-Big Ten honors, and also garnered American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings Midwest All-Region Second Team accolades, becoming MSU’s first ABCA All-Region honoree since 2016, when pitcher Dakota Mekkes earned first-team recognition, while first baseman Ryan Zimmerman was a second-team selection.

Jebb enters the 2023 season ranked No. 44 in the MLB Pipeline Top 100 Draft prospects list and No. 60 on d1baseball.com’s College Top 100 Prospect.

MSU opens the season at 2023 Major League Baseball Desert Invitational Tournament, formerly known as “MLB4” is an expansion of MLB’s annual, Arizona-based tournament designed to celebrate the traditional start to the college baseball season.

The MLB Desert Invitational Tournament will now include seven teams from around the country, including three nationally-ranked teams, and will be hosted in three locations throughout the Greater Phoenix area: (1) Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, (2) Sloan Park and (3) Grand Canyon University.  The MLB-hosted event will be held the weekend of February 17-19, including three exclusive telecasts LIVE on MLB Network and streamed on MLB.com. MLB Network has been the exclusive home of this tournament since its inception in 2018.

MSU now opens its 2023 season against in-state rival Michigan on Friday, Feb. 17 at 4 p.m. MT / 6 p.m. ET at Sloan Park. After an off day Saturday, the Spartans will then play a split doubleheader on Sunday, Feb. 19, first against Fresno State at 1 p.m. MT / 3 p.m. ET before Michigan State wraps up tournament action by playing Arizona on at 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET, with both of Sunday’s games being played at SRF at Talking Stick. 

The Spartans will remain in the Phoenix area to play at Grand Canyon on…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Michigan State University Athletics…