NCAA Baseball News

Buster Posey Award – Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission

Buster Posey Award - Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission

The most demanding and dangerous position on a baseball field is the one designated as “number 2” on a scorecard – the catcher. The role of catcher has evolved into a strategic part of the baseball game. Therefore, it is only fitting that the baseball community nationally recognizes the top collegiate catcher.

Previously known as the Johnny Bench Award, the Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award honors the nation’s top division one collegiate catcher as voted on by head coaches and sports information directors.

Zach Morgan (Fresno State), Kevin Parada (Georgia Tech), Buster Posey and Michael Carico (Davidson)

The Wichita Sports Commission released the official watch list for the 2023 Buster Posey National Collegiate Catcher of the Year Award. Sixty-five catchers were nominated for the award by their schools. Because the award is given annually to the top division one collegiate catcher, the list will be updated to include other candidates until May 8, 2023.

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 22, 2023. Ballots will be sent to the national voting committee at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 6, 2023. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced on June 29, 2023.

They are (in alphabetical order):

Diego Altamirano, JR South Alabama
Cole Andrews, SR Ohio State
Tate Ballestero, SR St. John’s
Blake Barton, SO Belmont
Derek Berg, JR  Army West Point
Gray Betts, SR Liberty
Julian Brock, JR Louisiana
Bryan Broecker, SO Michigan State
Devin Burkes, SO Kentucky
Connor Burns, JR Long Beach State
Michael Campagna, SR San Francisco
Burke Camper, JR Utah Valley
Michael Carico, JR Davidson
Owen Carapellotti, SO Georgetown
Josh Caron, SO Nebraska
John Cristino, SR Towson
Tyler Davis, JR Fresno State
Matt DePrey, JR Xavier
Dallas Duarte, SR Hawai’i
Matthew Ellis, SR Indiana
Cole Elvis, SR Kansas
Tomas Frick, JR North Carolina
Fernando Gonzalez, JR Georgia
Luke Hancock, SR Mississippi State
Calvin Harris, JR Ole Miss
Nick Hassan, JR Kennesaw State
Brandon Heidal, JR Oakland
McGwire Holbrook, JR Florida State
Henry Hunter, SO UAB
Cooper Ingle, JR Clemson
Adam Juran, JR Western Illinois
Cody Kelly, JR Missouri State
Will King, JR Eastern Kentucky
Tony Krueger, SR UMBC
Nate LaRue, SR Auburn
Bennett Lee, JR Wake Forest

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Big Ten Conference…