NCAA Softball News

Oklahoma wins 2023 DI softball national championship

Rogers State wins 2022 DII softball championship title

With a 3-1 win over Florida State in Game 2 of the best-of-3 Women’s College World Series Finals, No. 1 Oklahoma secured its third straight national title while extending its record-setting winning streak to 53 games.

In the series-clinching win, Oklahoma trailed briefly after Florida State’s Mack Leonard popped a solo home run to give the Noles a 1-0 lead in the bottom of the fourth inning.

But the Sooners quickly responded with back-to-back solo homers by Grace Lyons and Rylie Boone to flip the game and take a 2-1 lead in the fifth inning. An inning later, Alynah Torres grounded into a fielder’s choice that scored another runner and put OU up 3-1 in the sixth inning.

These two runs were more than enough for Jordy Bahl, who pitched the last three innings just one day after throwing a complete game shutout in the first game of the championship series. Bahl continued her dominant postseason as she did not allow a baserunner across her three innings of work.

With the win, Oklahoma became the first team to three-peat as national champions since 1988-90 when UCLA pulled off the feat. This is the seventh national title in program history and the sixth in the past 10 years for Patty Gasso’s Sooners.

East Texas Baptist University named host for the 2024 DIII softball championship

East Texas Baptist University was named the host of the NCAA 2024 Division III Softball Championship in Marshall, Texas, which will take place from May 30 to June 5.


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at > softball d1 articles and video…