NCAA Baseball News

NCBWA announces 2023 Division I All-America Teams

NCBWA announces 2023 Division I All-America Teams

DALLAS (NCBWA) – With some of nation’s most talented NCAA Division I players featured, the 2023 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s 23rd Annual All-America first, second and third teams were revealed Wednesday.

There are 21 different conferences and 18 conference championship squads represented among the ’23 honorees. The three All-America squads are also made up of 12 conference players or co-players of the year, 14 conference pitchers of the year and two conference relief pitchers of the year.

All five finalists for the 2023 Dick Howser Trophy presented by The Game Headware grace the tabulations determined by two ballots of NCBWA members. They are sophomore 1B-P Jac Caglianone of Florida, junior OF Dylan Crews of LSU, junior SP Rhett Lowder of Wake Forest, junior SP Paul Skenes of LSU and sophomore 2B JJ Wetherholt of West Virginia.

These standouts join a cavalcade of collegiate stars from all eight teams competing in the NCAA World Series June 16-25/26 as well as standouts who paced their respective schools to NCAA berths in 2023 and in previous years.

Some of the highlighted standouts along with the finalists are Lowder with a nation-leading 15 pitching victories (15-0 record), Skenes with the most strokeouts in DI at 188, Caglianone with an NCAA-most 31 home runs, World Series-bound Cade Denton of Oral Roberts with a share of the national saves lead at 15, Wetherholt with the top batting average in DI at .449, Charlie Condon, Georgia’s National Freshman of the Year with a .386 average and 25 home runs, Virginia pitching ace Connelly Early at 12-2 and Florida Atlantic 1B Nolan Schanuel with a .447 average – two points behind Wetherholt for honors in that category.

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2022 have featured the likes of P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern, 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, P-DH Brad Lincoln of Houston, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, OF Seth Beer of Clemson, UTIL Brendan McKay from Louisville, Florida P Brady Singer, Oregon State C Adley Rutschman, Arkansas RP Kevin Kopps and Texas 1B Ivan Melendez, among others.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Big Ten Conference…