NCAA Baseball News

Montgomery, Moore to Represent USA

Montgomery, Moore to Represent USA

STANFORD, Calif. – Following the completion of the 2023 Collegiate National Team Training Camp, a four-game intrasquad series played at the National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina, Stanford’s Braden Montgomery and Malcolm Moore have been selected for the 2023 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team.

USA Baseball announced Thursday the 31-man roster that will represent Team USA in a pair of five-game series with Chinese Taipei and Japan from June 30-July 12 at various venues across the Carolinas.

This year’s Collegiate National Team is led by Manager Larry Lee, who is making his Team USA managerial debut in 2023. Lee is joined on staff by Brady Austin (East Carolina), Reggie Christiansen (Sacramento State), Thomas Eager (Stanford), Andy Stankiewicz (USC), and José Vázquez (Alabama State).

“After the most talented and competitive Training Camp, the staff completed a grueling selection  process to get to the final roster today,” said Lee. “Our roster is full of extremely talented and capable baseball players, and we are focused on representing the United States well in international competition. We are looking forward to getting our series against Chinese Taipei started tomorrow night here in Cary.”

Carter Holton (Vanderbilt) will make his second consecutive appearance on the Collegiate National Team after helping the 2022 squad earn bronze at Honkbalweek Haarlem in The Netherlands last summer. Additionally, Drew Beam (Tennessee), Montgomery (Stanford), and Hagen Smith (Arkansas) have each clinched a spot on the final roster after participating in Training Camp for the second straight year.

In addition, the roster features a pair of players who have past experience at the USA Baseball National Team Development Program (NTDP). M. Moore and Christian Moore (Tennessee) have both participated in the 16U NTDP, while Malcolm and Jace LaViolette (Texas A&M) both earned invitations to the Prospect Development Pipeline (PDP) League in 2021.

Additionally, this year’s roster features 10 players who participated in the 2023 College World Series, highlighted by Golden Spikes Award finalist Jac Caglianone (Florida), who helped the Gators reach the championship series. Other participants include Ben Abeldt (TCU), Beam, Michael Massey (Wake Forest), Brandon Neely (Florida), Montgomery, Malcolm and Christian Moore, Griff O’Ferrall (Virginia), and Jay Woolfolk (Virginia).

Twenty-four different schools are represented on the 2023…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Stanford University Athletics…