NCAA Softball News

Texas A&M Athletics Announces Hall of Honor and Lifetime Achievement Honorees – Texas A&M Athletics

Texas A&M Athletics Announces Hall of Honor and Lifetime Achievement Honorees - Texas A&M Athletics

BRYAN-COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association announced on Friday that former women’s basketball head coach and administrator Lynn Hickey and Aggie softball national champion Erika Eriksson ’89 were this year’s honorees of the Hall of Honor and Lifetime Achievement awards, respectively.

“I am thrilled to be able to honor Lynn Hickey and Erika Eriksson next month as our Hall of Honor and Lifetime Achievement Award honorees along with our 2023 Hall of Fame Class,” Director of Athletics Ross Bjork said. “Their contributions to Texas A&M during their time in Aggieland was immeasurable, but what they have accomplished beyond A&M has been equally impressive. I am thankful that our athletics department has such incredible ambassadors that have personified the Aggie Spirit and Core Values in their daily lives.”

Hickey and Eriksson will be honored at the 45th Burgess Banquet at the Ford Hall of Champions at Kyle Field on Sept. 15 alongside the 2023 Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame class.

The Hall of Honor recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond in contributions and support of the athletic programs at Texas A&M. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes lettermen, who after graduation, have gone on to gain prominence through his or her efforts in industry, commerce, technology, athletics, the professions or other worthy endeavors.
For ticket information for the 45th Burgess Banquet, please visit
Lynn Hickey – Hall of Honor

Hickey served Texas A&M for 15 years (1984-99) as both the head coach for the women’s basketball team and the senior women’s administrator and senior associate athletics director. She was hired in 1984 by former athletics director and Heisman Trophy winner John David Crow.

As the leader of the Aggie women’s basketball program from 1984-1994, Hickey amassed over 150 wins and coached Texas A&M hall of famers Lisa Branch and Dr. Lisa Langston. In her final season as head coach, before transitioning to a full-time administrator, she led A&M to a 23-8 record and its first ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament. During the 1994 NCAA tourney, Hickey and the Aggies became the lowest seed to ever reach the Sweet 16, defeating Florida and San Diego State as the No. 13 seed. The Maroon & White to this day still shares that distinction with Liberty…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Texas A&M Athletics –…