MLB News

Giants’ Webb finishes second for award

Giants' Webb finishes second for award

NL Cy Young voting results: Giants’ Webb finishes second for award originally appeared on NBC Sports Bay Area

Giants ace Logan Webb finished second in 2023 NL Cy Young voting, MLB announced Wednesday afternoon.

Webb became the first Giants pitcher to finish in the top three since right-handed pitcher Tim Lincecum won the award in 2009.

San Diego Padres left-hander Blake Snell won the award for the second time in his career — one in the AL and now in the NL — receiving 28 first-place votes.

Webb received one first-place vote and 17 second-place votes.

“He’s going to win the Cy Young,” Webb said of Snell after pitching the second complete game of his career for the Giants in September. “He’s the best pitcher in baseball.”

While Webb fell just short of taking home his first Cy Young Award, NBC Sports Bay Area’s Angelina Martin listed three reasons why Webb made a strong case for himself after his 2023 showing, and even though he came in second, explained why Webb just being a finalist is a cause for celebration.

Webb posted a 3.25 ERA across 33 starts, which ranked fourth among all qualified pitchers in the NL. He also finished with a league-high 15 quality starts.

Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Zac Gallen finished third.

New York Yankees ace Gerrit Cole won the AL Cy Young Award, earning the nod by a unanimous decision.

Download and follow the Giants Talk Podcast

This embedded content is not available in your region.

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at MLB Baseball News, Scores, Standings, Rumors, Fantasy Games…