NCAA Softball News

Five ACC Teams Heading to 2024 NCAA Softball Championship

Five ACC Teams Heading to 2024 NCAA Softball Championship

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( – Five Atlantic Coast Conference softball teams earned a spot in the 2024 NCAA DI Softball Championship, headlined by a pair of national seeds. 2024 ACC Regular Season and Tournament Champion Duke is the No. 10 national seed, while Florida State is the No. 15 national seed. Clemson, Virginia and Virginia Tech also earned bids. 

Duke (47-6) and Florida State (43-14) will host regionals while Clemson (34-17), Virginia (32-18) and Virginia Tech (39-12-1) will hit the road. 

Duke earned its fourth consecutive bid to the tournament and is a regional host for the third time since the program’s inception in 2018. The Blue Devils welcome 2024 MEAC Champion Morgan State (35-18) to Durham in hopes to find themselves back in the Super Regionals for a third consecutive year. First pitch is set for Friday, May 17, at 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN+.

2018 National Champion Florida State is making its 36th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament, hosting this year’s SoCon Champion Chattanooga (42-14) in opening round action on Friday, May 17, at 4:30 p.m. ET on ACC Network.

Clemson will head to the Tuscaloosa Regional hosted by No. 14 seed Alabama for its matchup against the 2024 Southland Conference Champion Southeastern Louisiana (45-13). The Tigers will play at 2 p.m. ET on Friday, May 17, on ACC Network.

The Hokies will face this season’s Mountain West Champion San Diego State (31-18) in their fifth consecutive and 13th overall appearance when they take a trip to the West Coast to the Los Angeles Regional hosted by No. 6 seed UCLA. First pitch is set for Friday, May 17, at 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Virginia will make its first appearance in the NCAA DI Softball Tournament for the first time since 2010 when the Cavaliers head to the Knoxville Regional hosted by No. 3 seed Tennessee to face the 2024 Mid-American Conference Champions in Miami University on Friday, May 17, at noon on ESPN+.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded automatic qualification as conference champions, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will host at campus sites beginning Friday.

Regionals will be held May 17-19 with each campus site hosting a four-team, double-elimination tournament. The 16 winning teams advance to the super…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Atlantic Coast Conference…